Playing, learning, growing

Tel. 01892 538 666


Southborough Pre-school is a registered charity managed by an elected Committee of volunteer parents and carers, which ensure that the major decision making is in the hands of the parents.

The committee have a wide remit: among other things we manage the pre-school’s budget, make sure it operates legally, organise events, develop publicity materials, manage our website and Facebook page, agree the pre-school’s policies and manage recruitment. There are also a certain number of hands-on tasks which tend to be led by the committee like running fundraising and social events. The Committee’s full roles and responsibilities are as follows:


  • Represents and acts as a spokesperson for the pre-school
  • Chairs meetings of the charity; including committee meetings, open meetings and general meetings, such as the Annual General Meeting (AGM).
  • Sets the agenda for meetings together with the Secretary.
  • Co-ordinates the work of the committee to ensure effective administration.
  • Acts as the ‘Nominated Person’ for Ofsted purposes.
  • Line manages the Manager of the setting.
  • Supports other committee members and authorises the work of the Treasurer.

Treasurer (working with Vice-Treasurer):

  • Ensures the committee are aware of the financial position of the charity, providing an up-to-date written statement of accounts at committee meetings.
  • Ensures that all committee members are aware of their financial responsibilities and comply with the charity’s finance procedures.
  • Ensures that the committee apply the charity’s resources exclusively in pursuance of its charitable objectives.
  • Presents accounts to the members at the AGM.
  • Manages the charity’s bank account, updating the list of signatories as necessary.
  • Prepares in advance an annual budget, as agreed by the committee, and monitors it regularly.
  • Issue bills and receipts on behalf of the charity and ensures that all necessary payments are made promptly.
  • Ensures that the charity’s financial records are maintained accurately and updated on a timely basis.
  • Arranges for the accounts to be checked annually and independently.
  • Reviews and returns any other financial reports as necessary.


  • Assists with organises meetings including booking venues, arranging refreshments, liaising with attendees to ensure they are informed etc.
  • Draws up meeting agendas and circulates to all attendees punctually.
  • Takes accurate minutes during meetings, types up and sends them out to all attendees in a timely manner.
  • Supports all committee and staff members, by ensuring the administrative function is efficient.

Shared responsibilities for all committee members:

  • Act in the best interests of the charity; promoting its values and working to achieve its charitable objectives.
  • Work as part of a team with the other trustees and preschool staff; whilst bringing their own ideas, perspectives and experiences to the committee.
  • Regularly attend committee meetings and contribute to the effective management of the charity.
  • Read committee papers and contribute to the decision-making process of the committee.
  • Work with the Treasurer to set priorities for the budget.
  • Undertake Ofsted suitability checks as required.
  • Use safe recruitment procedures and work to Early Years Foundation Stage requirements to employ suitable adults to work with the children.
  • Employ a Manager to act as the person in charge of the early years provision; supporting them to successfully manage the childcare provision and ensure that the Early Years Foundation Stage and Ofsted registration requirements are met.
  • Ensure all committee members and staff have clearly identified roles and responsibilities.
  • Submit the annual update, or annual return and accounts, to the Charity Commission.
  • Ensure that the charity complies with the rules in its constitution, charity law, and other relevant regulations that govern the work of the charity.
Our current Committee members are: Emma Weddell (Chair), Rosie Henley (Vice-Chair), Sam Turner (Treasurer), Hannah Kesteven and Paul Phillips (Vice - Treasurers), Alexa Phillips (Secretary), Jo Jackson and Holly Sharp (Design and Communications Co-ordinators), Natalie Mcliveen and Ainsley Goddard (Fundraising Co-ordinators), Charlie Richardson (Committee member)
Last AGM January 2019